Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.


The Boy Scouts of America recognizes your achievements by awarding Badges of Rank. The first four are Scout, Tenderfoot, Second Class, and First Class. Next come Star and Life. The highest rank is Eagle.


  The Scout Promise, Law, and Outdoor Code

Rank Requirements:

Scout                Star

Tenderfoot        Life

Second Class   Eagle

First Class        Eagle Palms

Merit Badges:

Boy Scouts can earn any of 137 different Merit Badges in areas ranging from Art to Whitewater and from Camping to Space Exploration.  To earn a badge, a scout talks to his Scoutmaster about a subject he is interested in, and the Scoutmaster signs a Merit Badge card indicating that the scout has the interest and maturity to complete the requirements for the badge. The scout then works with a Merit Badge Counselor to acquire the knowledge and skills to meet the requirements to earn the Merit Badge.

Looking to earn any of these merit badges? Contact Mrs. Cooley for the names of the counselors in our area.

American Cultures *Environmental Science Pets
Art *Family Life Photography
Backpacking *First Aid Plant science
Bird study Fish and Wildlife Management Public Speaking
*Camping Gardening Railroading
Canoeing Geocaching Reading
Chemistry *Hiking Reptile and Amphibian Study
*Citizen in the Community Home Repairs Scholarship
*Citizen in the Nation Insect Study Snow Sports
*Citizen in the World Leatherwork Soil and water conservation
Collections *Lifesaving Space Exploration
*Communications Mammal Study *Swimming
Composite Materials Model Design and building Textiles
*Cooking Nature Weather
*Cycling Orienteering Wilderness survival
Energy *Personal Fitness Woodworking
Engineering *Personal Management   * denotes Eagle Required
© 2018 Troop 56 | Mansfield, Connecticut - Boy Scouts of America | WordPress Admin
© 2018 Troop 56 | Mansfield, Connecticut - Boy Scouts of America
WordPress Admin